Society Members Honored by the American Diabetes Association

Several Endocrine Society members have been honored by the American Diabetes Association® (ADA) as recipients of 2022 National Scientific and Health Care Achievement Awards.

The awards honor academics, healthcare providers, and educators who have contributed to substantial advances in the field of diabetes care and research.

“These extraordinary individuals receiving the ADA’s National Scientific and Health Care Achievement Awards have made significant contributions to diabetes research, prevention, and treatment,” according to Endocrine Society member Robert A. Gabbay, the ADA’s chief scientific and medical officer. “While our awardees come from a variety of educational backgrounds and institutions, they have one very important thing in common: their drive to help us move the needle and create lasting change in the lives of millions. With 537 million adults living with diabetes worldwide and more than 133 million Americans living with diabetes and prediabetes, it is crucial that passionate professionals continue to dedicate their careers to ending this epidemic.”

The following award recipients will be among those recognized at an awards ceremony to take place at the ADA’s 82nd Scientific Sessions June 3-7, 2022, in New Orleans, La.:

Anna Gloyn, PhD, professor of pediatrics, endocrinology, and diabetes at Stanford University, is the recipient of the 2022 Outstanding Scientific Achievement Award, which recognizes research in diabetes that demonstrates particular independence of thought and originality. Gloyn is a leader in efforts to discover the genetic basis of type 2 diabetes. She uses human genetics as a tool to understand cellular and molecular mechanisms for pancreatic beta cell failure in diabetes and related conditions. Her efforts seek to improve understanding of pancreatic islet cell dysfunction to advance treatment options for patients.

Hertzel C. Gerstein, MD, MSc, FRCPC, professor of medicine at McMaster University, Hamilton, Ontario, Canada, is the recipient of the 2022 Outstanding Achievement in Clinical Diabetes Research Award, which recognizes exceptional contributions in patient-oriented clinical outcomes research that have had a significant impact on diabetes prevention and treatment. Gerstein co-led the first cardiovascular trial with a large diabetes cohort (MICROHOPE). His discoveries related to ACE-inhibitors, thiazolidinediones, and insulin have been transformative in understanding diabetes and cardiovascular outcomes.

Janet B. McGill, MD, MA, FACP, professor of medicine, John T. Milliken Department of Internal Medicine, Division of Endocrinology, Metabolism and Lipid Research at Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis, Mo., is the recipient of the 2022 Outstanding Physician Clinician in Diabetes Award, which is presented to an individual to reward and honor meritorious contributions to diabetes clinical practice. McGill has been an active clinical researcher in diabetes for over 30 years and continues to test new therapies for diabetes and novel approaches to type 1 and type 2 diabetes. Currently, McGill is the principal investigator (PI) or sub-investigator on more than 10 clinical trials investigating new treatments for diabetes and its complications.

Jane E.B. Reusch, MD, a professor of medicine and biochemistry at the University of Colorado Denver and Denver VAMC, and associate director of the Center for Women’s Health Research in Denver, Colo., is the recipient of the 2022 Albert Renold Award, which is presented to an individual whose career is distinguished by outstanding achievements in the training and mentorship of diabetes research scientists and in the development of communities of scientists to enhance diabetes research. Reusch has dedicated herself to training the next generation of physician scientists and to the strengthening the clinical-translational workforce. At the core of her world-class translational diabetes research program is the mission to recruit, train, and retain new translational scientists to the diabetes workforce. She has directly mentored more than 70 students, pre- and post-doctoral fellows, junior, and senior faculty. Reusch is also the Endocrine Society’s 2022 Outstanding Mentor Laureate Award recipient.

The ADA’s 82nd Scientific Sessions will be held in New Orleans, La., June 3-7, 2022.

You may also like

  • Hammer Wins Inaugural Endocrine Images Art Competition

    Gary Hammer, MD, PhD, Millie Schembechler professor of Adrenal Cancer at the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor, Mich., won the Endocrine Society’s Endocrine Images Art Competition, a contest celebrating the beauty of endocrine science. Entries were judged based on aesthetic value and significance to endocrine research. Hammer’s image of the adrenal gland took the top…

  • Endocrine Society’s Insulin 2121 Event Kickstarts Diabetes Awareness Month

    Throughout 2021, the Endocrine Society has focused on insulin’s past and present. The Society’s Insulin 2121 event highlights insulin’s future. Robots, drones, and artificial intelligence are just a few of the innovative topics being discussed. While the event is pre-recorded, our speakers will be live and available to answer your questions in real time during the Q&A portion.   More information on the…

Find more in