Meet the 2019 Laureates: Carole R. Mendelson, PhD

Carole Mendelson

Carole R. Mendelson, PhD

Sidney H. Ingbar Award for Distinguished Service

Carole R. Mendelson, PhD, the 2019 Sidney H. Ingbar Distinguished Service Awardee, has worked continuously and tirelessly for the Endocrine Society for over 30 years. She has served on a remarkable number of Endocrine Society committees and editorial boards of Society journals which include: member and chair of the Education Committee; member and chair of Publications, during the transition to electronic publications; member and overall chair of the Annual Meeting Steering Committee; and member and chair of the Nominations Committee. Carole was a member of the editorial boards of Molecular Endocrinology for two terms and of Endocrine Reviews. She served as a member of Council and then as Vice-President for Basic Science from 2008 to 2011, during which time, she also chaired the strategic planning committee. Carole was appointed Endocrine Society representative to the FASEB Board of Directors, was elected to the FASEB Public Affairs Committee and currently is a member of the FASEB Training and Career Opportunities subcommittee. She recently completed a second term as a member of the Endocrine Society Nominating Committee.

Carole R. Mendelson, PhD, the 2019 Sidney H. Ingbar Distinguished Service Awardee, has worked continuously and tirelessly for the Endocrine Society for over 30 years.

In addition to direct Endocrine Society service and leadership, Carole has contributed greatly to other activities promoting the field of endocrinology and, particularly, women in science. She was president of Women in Endocrinology during the time the mentoring program was developed. This program was the precursor of the Endocrine Society Mentor Exchange program. At UT Southwestern, she has co-chaired the Women in Science and Medicine Advisory Committee for the past 12 years. She is co-chair of the Selection Committee of the Reproductive Scientist Development Program (a K12 program funded by NICHD). Finally, she served on editorial boards of national journals, numerous study sections, and in leadership roles in organizations focusing on endocrinology, reproductive biology, and birth defects.

Bert W. O’Malley, MD, is the Tom Thompson Distinguished Service Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biology at Baylor College of Medicine and was the first recipient of the Endocrine Society’s Outstanding Innovation Laureate Award in 2015.



You may also like

  • Members in the News: Ricardo Correa Named a 2019 Presidential Leadership Scholar

    Endocrine Society member Ricardo Correa, MD, Es. D, FACP, FAPCR, FACE, CMQ selected to participate in prestigious program The Presidential Leadership Scholars (PLS) program recently announced that Ricardo Correa has been selected as one of the 60 Scholars chosen for the program’s fifth annual class. PLS serves as a catalyst for a diverse network of…

  • Stewart Named Editor-in-Chief of The Journal of Clinical Endocrinology & Metabolism

    Paul M. Stewart, MD, FRCP, FMedSci, executive dean and professor of Medicine at the University of Leeds in the United Kingdom, has been named the next editor-in-chief of The Journal of Clinical Endocrinology & Metabolism (JCEM). JCEM is the world’s leading peer-reviewed journal for endocrine clinical research and cutting-edge clinical practice information. The journal provides the latest in-depth…

Find more in