FLARE Travel Award Winners

The Endocrine Society would like to congratulate the winners of the Future Leaders Advancing Research in Endocrinology (FLARE) ENDO Travel Award.

The winners are: Rodolfo J. Galindo, MD, of Hofstra North Shore LIJ School of Medicine; Darwin Omar Larco, PhD, of the Uniformed Services University; Alina P. Montalbano, PhD, of the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center; Jaydira Del Rivero, MD, of the National Institutes of Health; and Chesinta Voma, BS, of Cleveland State University.

FLARE is for basic science and clinical research trainees from underrepresented minority communities who have demonstrated achievement in endocrine research. The program components provide structured leadership development and in-depth, hands-on training in topics ranging from grantsmanship to lab management.

“This program is a wonderful opportunity to connect trainees such as myself with experienced and exceptional endocrine researchers, with the goal being to enhance our professional development,” says Del Rivero. “In addition, it provides the tools for a successful career in research and opens opportunities of networking and meeting outstanding researchers!”

The winners will receive financial assistance to travel to ICE/ENDO 2014 and present their outstanding research. They each expressed their excitement about the prospect of attending ICE/ENDO 2014 in Chicago and pointed out that they’re also looking forward to the networking possibilities this award provides.

“The FLARE program has really been a rewarding experience for me,” Larco says. “At the workshop I met a lot of senior investigators who gave me really useful information. To make things even better, the FLARE program is helping with the cost of attending ENDO by awarding these travel grants. I really enjoy these events where the opportunity to network is made very easy and is, of course, very important for someone early in their career.”

“I am ecstatic to be chosen,” Montalbano says. “I am sure the competition was fierce. FLARE is a great program with wonderful people giving so generously of their time and expertise. Having been selected is an honor.”

Galindo agrees: “I am proud to be a member of a professional society that recognizes young physicians and their efforts in advancing research. I am honored to be selected for the FLARE travel award as this represents the commitment of the Endocrine Society to promote the advancement of endocrinology through research, to promote diversity and to eliminate health disparities.”

Voma says she views the FLARE Travel Award as the “equivalent to receiving the keys to unlock success” in her career path, especially since she’s a beginning post-doctoral fellow. “I am beyond grateful for such a privilege given to me to attend the ICE/ENDO conference,” she says. “It is a one-stop shop to knowing all there is to succeed in a career in research, interact with the people that matter, present my research work, and most importantly learn from the experts on how to be productive. The timing wouldn’t have been any better than this.”


You may also like

  • Meet New Endocrine Society President, John Newell-Price, MD, PhD

    The Endocrine Society is pleased to welcome its president for 2024 – 2025, John Newell-Price, MD, PhD, FRCP, who took office during ENDO 2024 in Boston. Newell-Price is Professor of Endocrinology at the University of Sheffield, United Kingdom. He is also head of the Endocrinology Service at Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust and of…

  • Applauding Our Asian American Members: Endocrine News Celebrates Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month

    In honor of National Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month, Endocrine News reached out to several of our U.S.-based Asian members to get their thoughts on their careers, accomplishments, goals, and even their challenges, as well as advice they have for any young Asian American endocrinologists just beginning their careers. Since 2009, when President…

Find more in