Susan Mandel Honored by Women in Thyroidology

Mandel, Susan Headshot 1

On October 31, Endocrine Society immediate past-president Susan Mandel, MD, MPH, was recognized by the American Thyroid Association’s (ATA) Women in Thyroidology (WIT) with its 2019 Women in Thyroidology Woman of the Year Award.

The WIT Woman of the Year award was established in 2012 to recognize outstanding women who have demonstrated a long-standing commitment to the ATA and the advancement of women in thyroidology, both within the organization and in the field.

Mandel is a professor of medicine and radiology at the University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine, where she also directs the fellowship program in Endocrinology, Diabetes, and Metabolism. She serves as the associate chief of the Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes, and Metabolism at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania and is the director of the Thyroid Nodule Clinic.

At Penn, she oversees a clinical practice with over 23,000 annual visits. Her clinical practice focuses on patients with thyroid neoplasia and she has been recognized for clinical excellence with the Penn Duhring Clinical Specialist award. Her research interests include the use of sonography in the evaluation of patients with thyroid nodules and cancer, and thyroid disease during pregnancy.

Mandel earned her undergraduate degree at Harvard University and her medical degree at Columbia University. Mandel has been with the University of Pennsylvania since 1997. She was recognized in Philadelphia magazine’s annual Top Docs issue from 2004 to current. She was also recognized by America’s Top Doctors in 2007 to current, as well as by Best Doctors in America from 2003 to current.

Mandel has served on the writing groups for the American Thyroid Association Management Guidelines for Patients with Thyroid Nodules and Differentiated Thyroid Cancer and the Management of Thyroid Disease during Pregnancy. She also initiated and directs the Ultrasound workshops for the ATA and Endocrine Society. She received the Endocrine Society’s Distinguished Educator Award and the H. Jack Baskin Educator Award of the American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists. She is a past Endocrine Society Council member and Vice President Physician-in-Practice, as well as a past President of the Association of Program Directors in Endocrinology, Diabetes, and Metabolism.


You may also like

  • Endocrine Society Elects Wysham as 2021-2022 President

    Five endocrinologists to join Board of Directors Endocrine Society members have elected Carol H. Wysham, MD, to serve as the organization’s President for the 2021-2022 term. Wysham is an endocrinologist at Rockwood/MultiCare Health Systems in Spokane, Wash., and Clinical Professor of Medicine at the University of Washington. She will serve as President-Elect for a year…

  • Early-Career Reviewers Are Key to the Success of Endocrinology

    Last year, Endocrinology began soliciting nominations for early-career endocrinologists to review papers for the Endocrine Society’s (and endocrinology’s) premier journal, an effort spearheaded by Endocrinology’s editor-in-chief Teresa K. Woodruff, PhD, of Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine in Chicago, and supported by the journal’s associate editors. “Endocrinology is a field of many hormones, many organs,…

Find more in