2019 Lurie Prize in Biomedical Sciences Nomination Deadline: September 14, 2018 1:00 PM EDT


Lurie Prize Overview

In 2019, the Foundation for the National Institutes of Health (FNIH) will present the seventh annual Lurie Prize in Biomedical Sciences, a $100,000 award recognizing outstanding achievement by a promising young scientist in biomedical research. The Prize is made possible by a generous gift from philanthropist Ann Lurie.

The awardee will be selected by a jury of six distinguished biomedical researchers, chaired by Solomon H. Snyder, M.D., Distinguished Service Professor of Neuroscience, Pharmacology & Psychiatry, The Solomon H. Snyder Department of Neuroscience, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine.

The Award will be presented at the FNIH Award Ceremony on Wednesday, May 22, 2019 in Washington, D.C.


  • Nominations are broadly solicited and can be made by any member of an accredited educational and/or scientific institution. There is no limitation on the number of nominations that may be made by a single nominator or institution. No institutional approval is required.
  • No self-nominations will be accepted.
  • Nominations are to be for an outstanding young biomedical investigator, who must be 52 years of age or younger as of January 1, 2019. A candidate nominated in a previous year may be nominated again if he or she still meets the age requirement.
  • Nomination materials must be in English.
  • Nominations will not be accepted for candidates whose current location or permanent residence is in countries sanctioned by the U.S. Department of the Treasury, Office of Foreign Asset Control. See the current list of sanctions here.
  • If the candidate is a U.S. federal government employee or anyone else whose receipt of personal cash awards MAY be restricted, the nominator should confirm with the candidate that he or she is eligible to receive this award. We welcome nomination of NIH scientists (who may direct any questions to the NIH Ethics Office).
  • The winner must accept the award in person, with travel expenses covered by the FNIH.

 Nominations must include the following information:

a) The candidate’s name, title, institution, birthdate, earned degrees and contact information (mailing address, telephone number, e-mail address).

b) The nominator’s name, title, institution, terminal degree(s) and contact information (mailing address, telephone number, e-mail address).

c) A 50-word citation of the basis for nomination.

d) A 250-word description of the candidate’s contributions.

e) The candidate’s curriculum vitae (CV) including no more than 10 citations of publications on which the nomination is based. Nominations submitted with CVs listing more than 10 publications will be rejected. Those nominations may be resubmitted in accordance with the guidelines if the submission deadline has not passed.

 Former Prize Recipients

2018: Zhijian “James” Chen, Ph.D.,
Professor of Molecular Biology at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, George L. MacGregor Distinguished Chair in Biomedical Science

2017: David M. Sabatini, M.D., Ph.D.
Member of the Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research; Professor of Biology,
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

2016: Jeannie T. Lee, M.D., Ph.D.
Molecular Biologist at Massachusetts General Hospital; Professor of Genetics,
Harvard Medical School

2015: Karl Deisseroth, M.D., Ph.D.
D.H. Chen Professor of Bioengineering and of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences,
Stanford University

2014: Jennifer Doudna, Ph.D.
Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology,
University of California, Berkeley

2013: Ruslan M. Medzhitov, Ph.D.
David W. Wallace Professor of Immunobiology,
Yale University School of Medicine

 About Ann Lurie

A full biography and description of Ann Lurie’s philanthropic philosophy and accomplishments can be found at annlurie.com.